Contact Us

2022 SportWest Award Finalists Announced

The finalists for the 2022 SportWest Awards have been determined after more than 150 nominations were received.

The selection panels have reviewed the nominations and selected 40 finalists across nine categories.

SportWest Chief Executive Officer Matt Fulton said the number of nominations showed how strong sport has been in Western Australia in 2022.

“The number and quality of nominations received is reflective of the superb year Western Australia has had in sport. From the high performance arena through to grassroots, the strength of nominations demonstrates how our industry has remained vibrant throughout another challenging year and sport has kept our community connected,” Mr Fulton said.

“Off the field, sport administrators, clubs and volunteers have dealt with the transition to a relatively normal but still challenging environment brilliantly and those individuals and clubs nominated should be really proud of their efforts.”

“I would like to congratulate all those who were nominated as well as those that have been selected as Finalists and I look forward to celebrating, as a sector, at our annual SportWest Awards on Thursday 23rd February 2023.”

The 12 finalists for the WA Sports Star will be announced closer to the event. The finalists for the other eight categories are:

rebel Junior Sports Star

Samantha Lourey (Canoe Sprint), Teague Wyllie (Cricket), Isabella Campbell (Surfing), Iona Anderson (Swimming), Tahlia Gibson (Tennis) and Taylah Preston (Tennis)

Team of the Year

WA Men’s Cricket Team (Cricket), West Coast Fever (Netball) and Perth Wheelcats Women (Wheelchair Basketball)

Coach of the Year

Paul Burgess (Athletics), Adam Voges (Cricket) and Dan Ryan (Netball)

ActiveXchange Official of the Year

Michelle McMurdo (Gymnastics), Tim Kennedy (Lacrosse) and Kellie Morley (Lacrosse)

Service to Sport – May Campbell Medal

Sandra O’Keefe (Calisthenics), Derek Gatley (Dancesport) and Ian Toy (Lacrosse)

revolutioniseSPORT Community Club of the Year – John Gilmour Medal

Mount Helena Junior Football Club (Australian Rules Football), Break the Boundary (Cycling), Gravity ETC (Gymnastics) and Superfins WA (Swimming)

DLGSC Sports Administrator of the Year

Troy Kirkham (Australian Rules Football), Brett Patten (Tennis) and Robyn Kuhl (Volleyball)

Healthway Healthy Club Award

Ports Football Club (Australian Rules Football), Wanneroo Horse & Pony Club (Equestrian) and Mirrabooka Squash Club (Squash)

The 2022 SportWest Awards will be presented on Thursday, 23 February 2023 at Optus Stadium. Tickets are on sale now, purchase your ticket HERE


For more information

Please contact SportWest Communications Manager Bronte Vause at brontevause@sportwest.com.au

Need to contact one of our staff members? Click here to view staff profiles:

Featured Partners