Contact Us

SportWest Awards finalists announced

The finalists for the 2021 SportWest Awards have been determined after more than 170 nominations were received.

This week three selection panels sat down to review the nominations and selected 40 finalist across nine categories.

SportWest Chief Executive Officer Matt Fulton said the number of nominations showed the strength of WA sport on and off field.

“To receive such a high number of high-quality nominations in another COVID-affected year is a credit to the WA sport industry and shows that our athletes continue to excel no matter what hurdles they must jump over,” Mr Fulton said.

“Off the field, sport administrators, clubs and volunteers have dealt with COVID restrictions and regulations superbly and those individuals and clubs nominated should be really proud of their efforts.”

The 12 finalists for the WA Sports Star will be announced closer to the event. The finalists for the other eight categories are:

rebel Junior Sports Star
Taylah Cruttenden (Athletics), Teague Wyllie (Cricket), Ruth Aryang (Netball), Erin Classen (Squash), Iona Anderson (Swimming) and Alex Saffy (Swimming)

Team of the Year
Fremantle Dockers (AFLW), Perth Wildcats (Basketball) and Perth Scorchers WBBL (Cricket)

KPMG Coach of the Year
Shelley Nitschke (Cricket), Ritchie Smith (Golf), Colin Batch (Hockey) and Simon Redmond (Swimming)

Official of the Year
Peter Wright (Hockey), Tammy Standley (Hockey) and Ryan Arblaster (Swimming)

Roobix Service to Sport – May Campbell Medal
Robert Schickert (Athletics), Alida Scott (Gymnastics) and John Sewell (Volleyball)

revolutioniseSPORT Community Club of the Year – John Gilmour Medal
Northampton Football Club, Leschenault Cricket Club and Dianella Junior Soccer Club

DLGSC Sports Administrator of the Year
Christina Matthews (Cricket), James Curtis (Football) and Ashleigh Apps (Triathlon)

Healthway Healthy Club Award
Margaret River Hawks Cricket Club, Perth Broncos American Football Club and Wanneroo Districts Netball Association

The SportWest Awards will be held on Thursday, 24 February 2022 at Optus Stadium. Tickets for the event will go on sale from Friday, 17 December 2021.

Need to contact one of our staff members? Click here to view staff profiles:

Featured Partners